XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

Thanksgiving

Posted by Hai Tran on December 4, 2008

For me, this year’s Thanksgiving was the same as last year. I live at home so there is nothing new on how my parents treat me, but we are not that big on Thanksgiving after my brother left the states for school two years ago. We did not have turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing, or any of those delectable foods that we SHOULD be eating on Thanksgiving Day, but I did have spaghetti and meatballs so I was not too upset. Although I’m used to having a feast before my brother left, I was perfectly fine with a quiet day sitting in front of the television screen mindlessly watching the football games. I had a lot of fun over my break, but I had to do even more work than I had fun. I had a ten page research paper due for English, I had a Biology Lab final that Monday and a World History test also, and a week packed full of quizzes and final projects due for my classes before finals. I DREADED coming back to school, but now halfway through the week I think I will be able to survive. Over the break though, I went fishing Wednesday night, which was very cold, but we caught a load of fish in a short period of time so it was a successful evening. I watched television and did my homework all Thursday and Friday evening I fell ill from food poisoning. I believe it was from the spaghetti or Wing Zone I ate for lunch, but I could always be wrong. The rest of the weekend I spent recovering and doing more homework, not leaving the house at all. In the end, I spent more time on working than I did enjoying, but in the end I will enjoy my upcoming Christmas break.

-Hai Tran

Leave a comment