XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

Thanksgiving

Posted by Corneisha McCorkle on December 4, 2008

I live just outside the city, approximately twenty minutes away. I also work across the river on weekends and Mondays. For the longest I didn’t have my own means of transportation to and from work, because I stay on campus. So I spent the majority of my weekends at home this semester. When I finally got my own car Thanksgiving was right around the corner so I wasn’t to excited to go home. Thanksgiving wasn’t really a break since we have finals right when we come back to school. Despite that I didn’t to much studying over the break. Not surprisingly I’m paying for that now. I have been staying up late and pushing my body to keep up with my mind in spite of my lack of sleep. Compared to last year this Thanksgiving was different from last year. I wasn’t working last Thanksgiving so I had more time to spend with my family and friends. I also didn’t have such a heavy work load to work through last year. I find that when I do go home I’m not as productive as I am when I’m at the dorm. So the fact that I got absolutely nothing done over the break isn’t a huge surprise to me. Because we’re in the holiday season I worked extremely long hours at my job so when I went home I ate whatever I could find and went to sleep. I would wake up the next morning and repeat the process. I’m a little sad to say that I don’t enjoy going home like I did before. I miss my mother, but that’s about it. I would rather stay at the dorm any day. Christmas break is fast approaching so it looks like I won’t have much choice.

Leave a comment