XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

~ Thanksgiving

Posted by Latasha Smith on December 4, 2008

Thanksgiving mean to me is a lot family and friends coming together from a long year thankful for family friends that care an always there for you. This year was different than last because last year I was home the whole time and everybody was home but this year I went off to college an mostly everybody did to and now since I am the only person that so far away from and everything couldn’t wait to see me because they hear an saw pictures of me but they wanted to see it there self how college change me and what I look like how. I did go home to Milwaukee, Wisconsin is when I got off the plane is so cold and when I look in the window I seen snow on the ground I miss that. When my mama an uncle Dewayne can an got me from the airport I felt like I was home the air was more fresh to me and I seen people I known for ever I was so happy to be home an my mama an uncle was happy to see me. It was distraction from school so near the end because going home for the holiday I never pick up a book or study because before I left New Orleans I told my self this was going be a short vacation because finale was right around the corner and I started missing my family an friends I never been this long away from them and I need to get my mind back home track because Xavier making stuff hard an mad an I know it was time to go home but now am back I feel so much better now I did a lot of crying while I was home because I lost my grandmother in 2000 and my life been crazy after that but I have to keep telling my self I can do it and she is still with me in spirit and everyday she watch me. My family would treat me the same because I don’t live with them any more but I kind of do because anytime I had came home from college I go to my mama house but I have a lot of house that I could stay at that’s just how my family are. To be honest with you I had so much fun with my family and friends in Milwaukee I truly didn’t wanted to come back to school but I known I had to because finale was here but I will be back home Saturday for Christmas break. I a lot amazing happen while I was home my friends change into better people my God sister know how to drive and I let her drive me around the city an I seen some of my high school friends that’s in college and it was really good to see them because I haven’t then since graduations an my last day in Milwaukee before I went off to college Aug 15 an also my favorite member was in town and me an him mostly see each other for Christmas but me an him went to the mall an shop and talk about school an he ask about college.

Leave a comment