XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

Portfolio

Posted by Sarah Wilson on December 4, 2008

Thanks for a great semester! Sarah Wilson

Thanks for a great semester! Sarah Wilson

Sarah Wilson

 

December 4, 2008

Essay

Experience

 

            As a student I think I was a well respected student. I did what I had to in my school work.

 

I feel that I was a great student I was always on time and never really miss my classes I had this

 

semester. I learn a lot this semester of my freshmen year. I learned that I can’t wait to the last

 

minute to prepare for things that should always study when I can basically everyday  for all

 

subjects. Then I would be a studious student that is prepared. Next semester I will have to do in

 

my classes to get better grades. I feel that I will do that next semester. My education so far has

 

been good. I learn a lot this semester in all of my classes. I would never change my major. I’m

 

going to stick with Premed/Biology all four years of college at Xavier. I feel that my focus my

 

college career has change a lot I believe that I would succeed in my college career in the next

 

four years. My attitude towards school hasn’t ever changed. I will always want to achieve the

 

greatest in class and do my best no matter what in school. I feel that my first semester in college

 

was a big change in my life. I will strive to do my best in college to achieve my goal of

 

becoming an ER(Emergency Room) Doctor in the future. Dreams will come true I believe that I

 

will do well in my future goals in my life. Xavier has been a big role in my life so far. Xavier is a

 

wonderful school to attend.  School is important source in my life and always will be in the

 

future.  I have three more years to go at Xavier University I have a long way to go from here.

 

Even though it seems to be a long time from now, that time will come very quickly and the next

 

minute I will be a senior in college. I can’t wait to be a senior in College so I can be more closer

 

to my dream of becoming a ER Doctor. Even though I have to go to medical school to become a

 

Doctor it’s all worth the time to attend school. I will achieve my goal even if it takes me until

 

I’m thirty years of age. I will become a doctor and help people in needed in the hospital.

 

Community Service Essay

 

            The type of community service I have done over the semester has been wonderful. I have

done over the semester has been wonderful. I love helping people that is in need of help. For

freshmen orientation I was help building a greenhouse in city Park. It was hot but it was worth it.

I’m glad that I did that to help my city. The next community service I had volunteered to tutor at

my elementary/ middle school name St. Rita School.  I would go every Tuesday evening to help

students that needed help with their homework or who had trouble with their homework. I would

make sure they would understand their homework thoroughly so they would get a good grade on

their homework or upcoming test. The children are the sweetest. I love helping people.

Two writings

1)

Sarah Wilson

Essay

 

An Uncomfortable Place

 

When I was in an unfamiliar territory initially I felt as though I did not fit in; in

that case on August 23, 2005 I was displace by hurricane Katrina in the New Orleans

area. My family and I were horrified about the Hurricane Katrina category five situation.

For this purpose my family chose to leave the city voluntary.

That day for us was so busy. We had to get things in order at our house, car, and

so on and so forethought.  We also went to the Winn-Dixx grocery store to get snacks for

the road trip. That night we had to pack almost the whole household in a Ford Explorer.

Our family was so jam pack into that Ford Explorer car. The destination we were going

to because of the storm was Georgia. The drive was so long. It took us almost twelve

hours to reach our destination. During the trip to Georgia we stop a couple of times to

exercise or legs and stretch our muscles. After a while I couldn’t feel my legs because of

the small jam pack car. During that time we also got lost going to our destination.  It was

a strange and unusual time for my family. We thought that we would never get to

Georgia.

Since we left the city on that Saturday August 23, 2005. I really didn’t want to

leave my city New Orleans. That’s my home, where I’ am from and where I grow up.

However everyone had to get out of harm’s way it was really important.  That storm was

pronounced as a Category Five Hurricane. Category Five Hurricanes are very dangerous

it can cause a flood; it can also kill people.  That’s the reason my family and I left the city

when we did.  

Finally we were at my cousin’s apartment in Marietta, Ga.  When we got there

everyone in my family was tired and hungry. My family didn’t have much of anything.                

Even though we only brought a week of cloths with us. We didn’t know if we were going

to stay or go back home at that time. My cousin’s apartment was very small one bedroom

with no furniture inside the whole apartment. His kitchen was small like the bathroom:

but his living room was the biggest part in the whole apartment. So everyone sleep in his

living on the floor on sheets and covers we brought from home.

 

The next day it was Monday August 25, 2005 a day no one would forget. The day

           Hurricane Katrina destroyed the city of New Orleans.  My family and I watched the news

        on television. We were so shock and sad about our hometown. Also we saw our house on

television on the CNN news. Our house had water all the way to the 2nd floor of the house. I                                 

felt very poor and homeless that day. We felt like we had nothing after seeing our house on

television.

Weeks later being in Georgia, my family and I were staying in a hotel; instead of

my cousin’s apartment. My mom, brother and I had a room. My sisters had their own

rooms. I was glad about that no more sleeping on the floor. A few days later my mom

registered my brother and I for school in Marietta, Ga. We had to stay in school that was  

so important to my mother. The school name is Robert Lee Osborne High School the

home of the cardinals, that school was a public school. In my life time: I attend Catholic

Schools.  R.L. Osborne was bigger than most of the New Orleans schools I have

attended. The school colors where red and white. In their hall ways the lockers were

blood shot red. I guess because of the percentage of students going at Osborne. The

school also had a big gymnasium, football stadium and tennis court. I was in a different

territory and environment.

My first day at R.L. Osborne High School in Marietta, Ga: was a scary time for

me. I got a tour around the school but I still didn’t know were classes were located at in

the buildings. I still was late for my classes that day. I felt so uncomfortable about going

to this school and meeting new people that’s not from my hometown New Orleans. I

didn’t stop feeling uncomfortable until that school year was over. I still felt like I didn’t

belong at that school and in Marietta, Ga  period.

At the time in my life I didn’t really want to be there at that school are at that

state. Even though I stared to like the school R.L Osborne High. I still felt out of place

the second year in Georgia. I was still thinking about being home in New Orleans with

the people and places I love dearly.

 

After a while I had to suck it up and just deal with the situation.  Being in Georgia

not New Orleans; I join different types of clubs and sports to occupy my time. I had no

choice but to start likening my environment beside New Orleans. I join the choir,

volleyball team, dance team, and also tennis team. Doing the sports help me think of

home and I wouldn’t be as sad and anger as I was in my life time after Hurricane Katrina.

Finally I didn’t feel like I wasn’t in an uncomfortable place anymore. I felt like I finally

fit in the crowd in Marietta, Ga.  It was hard for me to not deal with that situation no

more. I had to give it up. I have to move on in my life: I told myself one day in Georgia,

and I did.  I love New Orleans and always will.

 

2)

Sarah Wilson

This Is What Thanksgiving Is All About

 

 

Thanksgiving dinner to my family is so important.  We go out of our way to have

everyone smiling and their stomachs full on Thanksgiving Day. This day is a joyful, loving,

thankful day for my family. Thanksgiving is one of the best times              in my life and my family’s life.

This is how my family and I prepare for the Thanksgiving dinner, in my house on Thanksgiving

Day.

               

First of all my mom and I go to the grocery store, there we get what is needed to

prepare the Thanksgiving meal.  If my mom and I don’t go to the store the family won’t have

anything at all to eat for Thanksgiving Day. Unless we get the groceries, there will be no food on

Thanksgiving Day. Essentially it’s a privilege for my mom and I to get the food for our family on

Thanksgiving Day because it’s a tradition for the youngest daughter to go grocery shopping with

your mom.

In addition these are the list of items my mom and I will be getting while we are in the

store shopping for food.  The first item on the list are the spices, no one can’t make a delicious

meal with seasoning.  The Second item on the list is the desserts: pies, cakes, cookie mix, and

cornbread mix to bake every item for Thanksgiving dinner. The Third item on the list is the

drinks: cold drinks, juice, and milk, and punch for the family. The fourth item are the stuffing mix

for the turkey and bell peppers.  The next item is the fresh picked bell peppers.  Another item is

the potatoes for the potato salad. The next item last but not least the turkey.  Our family dish on

Thanksgiving Day.  After that my mom and I head to the checkout counter line to pay, for our

food.  When we finally get out of the line, we started to put the groceries in the trunk of the car

then head home.

We arrive home and all of our family came to help us with the grocery bags.  Finally we

went inside our home with all of the grocery bags one by one.  We started to put it away into

the pantry closet. Since everyone corporate they only had one more bag of groceries left.

 

The first item we would cook for Thanksgiving Day is the turkey. The turkey is the main

dish of our meal. Without a turkey it wouldn’t be the same on Thanksgiving for my family. We

do this, so the turkey can be ready and cooked by dinner time on Thanksgiving Day. By that time

everyone in the household would be exhausted from that day, so everyone goes to bed around

twelve am.  The next morning is Thanksgiving Day. We would wake up everyone in the

household, for them to watch the Macy Thanksgiving Day parade on television.

Then my mom, brother, sisters, and I will start cooking the Thanksgiving Dinner.

However the other part of the family is watching the Thanksgiving Day parade. The turkey has

been in the oven cooking over night, so the turkey can be ready for dinner time. Next on our

agenda is the stuffing mix, so we can stuff the turkey and bell peppers for dinner. My mom

always does the stuffing and the turkey on Thanksgiving it’s my mom specialty. But my oldest

sister does the macaroni and cheese for dinner. My sister macaroni and cheese is the bomb. The

macaroni dish is always given to the oldest child in my family. My second oldest sister helps do

little things that are needed around the house.  That duty always stays with the second child in

my family.  My third oldest sister she helps with the desserts by oiling, buttering the pans to put

the mix in the pan and in the oven.

The tradition of the youngest child is to prepare and learn how to fix potato salad from

scratch, when I turned thirteen years old. My mom taught me how to fix potato salad. Since

then I have been fixing the potato salad for Thanksgiving Day dinner.

During that time Santa and his reindeer are on the television in the thanksgiving parade.

The turkey would finally be done.  The other food wouldn’t take that long either. In between

that time the whole family would be giggling and laughing at moments. We had together as a

family.

At four p.m all the food is done including the desserts. My oldest sister and mom are the

ones that dish out the food to everyone. Then everyone in my family sits in the den at the dining

table for Thanksgiving Dinner. Even before we eat my mother says a special prayer with the

family and we all say why we are thankful! When you knew my mom is done praying she always

says (In Jesus name Amen). Then everyone starts to dig in the food smiling at each other.

Having this dinner to me means a lot. I know that I will keep this ritual in my immediate,

also whole family. The love and closeness shared my family shared with each other is

undeniable. It’s what thanksgiving is all about.

 

Blogs

 

1) Week 1: Introduction

Hello, Everyone

My name is Sarah Wilson. I’m a native of New Orleans, La. Born at Touro Hospital on July 17,1989. I’m the youngest out of five siblings. My mother was a signle parent raising us to ger fullest. I want everyone to know something’s about myself. I love to sing. I been singing since I was little in a church choir. I loveto play sports also like volleyball, tennis, etc. I participated in school choir since elementary all the way to high school. I love to perform in front of a crowd to see the crowd reaction when I perform in any kind of way. That’s and odd thing about myself I love the attention on me. I never really complain about anytihng. Except one time I was so tired, I had back to back practice for volleyball then Dance Team. Without a break. The reason I wanted to come to Xavier. I believe that Xavier  is a wonderfuln and loving school. The environment is very friendly and caring. Also  I wanted to become a Doctor since I was nine years of age. My major is Biology/Premed. I pick this major because I love Science especially. I feel that nothing can get better than science. I love my city New Orleans. I love the culture,food,music,sites, everything about my hometown I love. I would love to learn more about the French language, and French culture of New Orleans, La. I feel that xavier will prepare me to do great things in my life. Also to help others in need, when I become a ER (Emergency Room) Doctor in the future.

Sincerely, Sarah Wilson

 

 

2) Xula Mission

Hello, Everyone

      I feel that Xavier is trying to help anyone that wants to be something in life. Like help graduating senior students go to medical school, dental,grade school, etc. Xavier has a loving, caring, and heart-warming atmosphere. You get to know the students, especially the Teacher’s. I love that we can get to know the teachers better and they get to know us more. Sothe teachers, and students can be on the same page. I feel that I will keep the mission going strong because of my education is a big part of my life. Being a Xavierite is the best thing in the world. I feel like I belong somewhere with loving people in my university community. I know that the Alumni at this school is proud to be a Xavierite because this school is one of the only almost all black catholic university in the nation.  Xavier has the most students that graduated enter school’s and finish for a Master’s Deagree.   I believe that the university feels that we will succeed and accomplish what we came here for to Xavier. To get our Bachelor’sDegree to go to big and better school’s to get our master’s degree.   I think I will hold the mission up because after medical school I want to help at Xavier to teach Volleyball in the future.  I feel that Xavier does a good job upholding the mission. I don’t hear no complains about anything at Xavier at all. Not form students, teachers, not even alumni. I feel like Xavier is the Best University in the United States of America. Of Course Louisiana. Thank You for reading my blog.

Sincerely,  Sarah Wilson

3) Week 3 : Community Service

Community Service  to me is helping people that’s in depressed need of help. I have paticpated in many community services in my lifetime.  One of the community services I did where feed the hungry in Atlanta, Ga. We went to downtown Atlanta at night. I feed some homeless people a hot meal that day. I feel like I made a difference in them people lives by feeding them a hot meal. I also did a community service in New Orleans , La named Helping Hands. We went to City Park and started to landscape, help build a green house for our beautiful park. My feelings about all the community services I been in I feel like I can help or do anything that was in need at that time. I love to help people, I love to make people smile. I want the world to be helpful also about people in need more.  The types of community services that interested me are feeding the hungry, help fix houses, build different buildings. Make sure people that need help is help by someone.  I feel that helping people is a God giving talent. I feel that god has to be in the people hearts that want to help others in need. My particular community service I would do is feed the homeless and help build a homeless shelter.  The project would be called Help Others in Need. I would produce hot meals for people that are hungry around that area and more.  I would target the most needed place that have homeless people in need of shelter and food.

 

4) Xavier and Me

I’m proud to say that I’am part of the Wilson’s Community first, I’m currently in the Xavierite Community, my home town community New Orleans, and other communities. I’m also part of the Biomedical Scholar Community, Premed/Biology community, and  St. Katharine Drexel Dorm Community. I love the communites that I’m currently in at the moment. These communties are the greatest in my life right now.

  These are some communities that I would like to join. The Pom Pom Squad, Volleyball Team, Biology Club, Pear Dean, and also a sorority.  To join the communities I listed above. I would have to try out for most of the positionsto join their communities. Like for insists Pom Pom Squad I would have to try out for two days straight to be on the team and in their community.

  The reason I would love to join those communities they are very active and exciting.  I would feel like I fit into something I would love to do for college extra activities.  The guidelines of these communities stay focus, practice, make sure you do your school work. That’s the most important part in your life and why you are at Xavier and at college.

  I feel like if I’m going to be a part of these communities that it would be so important to me to join these clubs and communties in my college career.  Most of all being a Xavierite is the best communtiy of all besides my Wilson community my family.  Communties can be the best things in your life if you let it.

Sincerly,  Sarah Wilson

 

 

5) Elections/Voting

I’m glad be a U.S citizen, that I’am going to be a part of history in the making. A african american running for president also the first Democratic black candidate. Even being part of a women alson running for president named Hillary Clinton. For the Democratic Party.

In this election the economic and war is an big issue. I feel that the economic system should get better over the years. That they should keep social benfits, student loans, are any type of benificial help for the us. Citizens that need the help from the goverment. I feel that the war should be ceased and they should bring the soldiers back home with their family. I think it has no point being there if they don’t want help from us.

Yes I considered of listening to both side and I have but I stick to my choice Obama. I like most of Obama views and electoral choices if he become president. But Mccain sticks to his old and have to rule ways. He wants to cut alot things for the poor so his rich can get more. In the economy if he become president.

I feel that this election is important to everyone in Xavier, New Orleans, the United States of America we are going to be part of the 2008 election and history. Obama is a person that goes around and interact with the people of the united states of america voters and talk to them. I’am very sure that he tries to understand were we coming from  to be a better president of this election. This election would be talk about for years to come for a long time.

 

6)  Responsibilities

As a student my responsibilities is to do good in school. To have a great point average so I can get into a awesome medical school in the future. I always had a responsibility. I had to keep my grades up since I can remember. To succeed in life you have to work hard and study for what you in life. Nothing is free or easy.

I feel like college is a challenge to me. I have to study more than I would regularly in my life. College is no joke it’s the real deal. I want my grades to improve more then what it is now. It’s not bad but it can be better than that. I see myself improving by studying more and going to tutoring sessions if I need them in the future.  Life is not easy college is definitely not easy. So college is not easy either.

I have to take my time to do my work and sit down and try to understand what I don’t know about the subject. I would ask my teachers more questions in class if needed help.

I would have to change my whole routine in my life to succeed in school. I would have more time to study then of doing nothing. I would study with other students. Everyone needs help in their life in college especially. I would be more focus on my work then anything else on my mind. I would succeed to get into medical school in the future and I will have a good grade point average before I graduate.

 

7) Week:9 Studying

 I study in a quiet place in the library to concentrate on my subjects to get a good grade. I study all of my subjects. The subject I like to study is Biology Lecture notes the most, because he give us certain notes and material to study. To prepare ourselves for the upcoming test and modules. For me to improve in all of my subjects. I can start to study more and harder to understand the material. I can start to go to tutoring for all of my subjects. Even if I don’t have truoble in them.

I study everyday between my breaks for my classes. Also after my classes I study again. Even though I don’t have test or homework in some of my classes. I still study for it. to refresh my memory of the material. My study schedule is very reasonable. I also study on the weekends to keep my mind refresh and working. On monday I study between nine am-eleven am and in the afternoon. Tuesday I study after my classes that’s at tweleve pm. Wednesday I study at eleven am and then after my last class for that day around five pm. Thursday I study between nine am until tweleve pm and after school. On friday i study before eleven am and afetr school too. It keeps me focus on my work more. I study in a group so we can test each other about our material we are going over. To me studying with others helps me to understand it little bit more.

 

8) Week 10: Classes

My favorite classes are my Tuesday and Thursday classes. At 8:00 am- 11:40 am on Tuesday. On Thursday 8:00am and 1:15 pm.  This class is fun to me. I get to participate in the class. Also talk to my neighbors about the class discussion. I get to focus on all my classes that I don’t have that day. Also the classes I do have on that day. I have time to take naps in between and I don’t have to rush to doing my work. I have more to do the assignments. My Least favorite class is a none credit course. I take that class for nothing to me. It’s a waste of time and energy to do that work for that class. I feel that it’s really a waste of my time to got to that class and do the material for that class. This class is very boring to me. I have no kind of fun at all.  I would had made the class credit hour course. Made more interesting ,andfun to learn and interact with to do the material in class. So the students try to at least come to class. Participate and do what they have to do to pass the course. I would try to look on the bright side of things and do what I have to do in that class to pass. I feel that if I was interested in the class more I would have a better attitude about the material and class. Then I would focus on the materials like I suppose too.

 

9) Week:11 Majors and Careers

 My major I started with Xavier is Premed/Biology. That’s the only major I will be doing at this school. The reason why I wanted to major in premed/Biology because I love to help people with they are hurt or in need. This has been my passion since I was eight years of age.  I always wanted to help people in that type of way.  I will never change my major because this is my field I wanted to succeed in to do to help people that are injury or hurt. Also watching different television shows had me convenience to really join that field. I love the rush to help people that are seriously hurt and need of help in their condition. The shows are: Er, House, Discovery Health channel, and etc. This list of shows can go on and on.  

I see myself in the (ER) Emergency Room help people in need like if someone come with a broken ankle I would help to put and cast on his ankle and give him crutches. Another one can be a person just got stab in the stomach and I would had to see how much blood the person had lost also how I would stich his wound. To me I will feel complete because I wanted this career since  I was a child I always believe I will do it. I just feel accomplished and Happy with my life because I achieve my goal and that’s all that matters.

 

10) Week:12 Stuff

The only thing that happened that was good was that I just got hired at Cafe Du Monde.  This going to be my first job ever. I never work before so this should be interesting. Besides that I went to the Cricket club it was my first time for a club action. never did that in my life either. I’m a quiet clam type of person so you won’t see me do that often. Also freshmen orientationwas kind of fun. My group soul gold had fun so did I. my great experience in school is that I’ am attending college for the first time. Away from my mom for the first time. On my own for the first time. It’s alot that has change in my life but it’s for the good. Becausenow I’m and adult I have to do things for myself. Life can be hard at times but you have to stick through it and try to do your best at it. So far life in college is totally different from high school. But overall I’m glad that I’m not in Hugh School and in college. So I can achieve my dream of becoming A ER(Emergency Room) Doctor. I’m glad that I’m in college so I can do what I always wanted to do since little child. After I graduated from Xavier University I will be attending medical school and proceed as a doctor.

 

11) Week 15: Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving is a day that my family be thankful for all the things that God had done for us that year.  This year I had to work on Thanksgiving Day and last year I didn’t have to because I didn’t have a job. Also I was in Georgia with my mom and family. This year I was with my boyfriend family and my sisters for thanksgiving. I didn’t get to go to Georgia like I plan to see my mom but for christmas I will see my mom.  Even though I didn’t get to go back by my mom I was good to be in newOrleans where I was born and raise. I really needed that break for school. I needed to catch on rest and work to prepare for next semester. Also I didn’t forget to study over the hoilday. My sisters they never treated different because I stay in the dorm they kind of miss me not being there wuth them. I was glad to come back to school so I can see my friends and finish the semester out. To start fresh and new next semester.  The time off from school I had a good bit of fun I enjoy the time for myself. Even though I study when I can. I didn’t have to go to class and sit there and learn about somthing I was free for five days that’s all what I needed. I got my hair done during the brreak I really needed that done. Also I got to hang out with my family and my boyfriend over the break I was enjoying the time I had that wasn’t occupied. I was enjoying my free time until school start again on the following monday. Overall I had a wonderful break and i wouldn’t change for the world.

 

 My semster so far has been a great expirence I will always remeber my first semester in college.  I will tell my children, grandchildren so on so forth. I will share it will everyone I know. This was a once a life time chance in my life I will alwys rember my freshmen year.

Leave a comment