XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

Thanksgiving…

Posted by Britney Weary on December 4, 2008

This Thanksgiving was different from the others simply because I am now a college student and I had to come home on a plane instead of already being there. When I was home I was so excited. I was so glad to see my family and friends. They were happy to see me too. I can tell even though they claimed they didn’t. When I got to the airport in Houston, Texas, my cousin was the first to see me. She ran up to me and hugged me which made my mother and brothers come running over seconds later. There was so much emotion in the air my mother began to cry which isn’t unusual.

Going home was definitely a distraction. I didn’t want to do any homework. No matter how much I tried to forget about it, it still had to be done. I couldn’t ignore the due dates. I had to bite the bullet even though I was angry we had to do work over the break anyway.

My family definitely showed the love. They’ve always showed the love but because I was only in town for a week, they showed it even more. It was excellent. Even though I was glad to be home, the only reason I wanted to come back to school was to see my new boyfriend. Is that so bad? I didn’t want to come back to finish but i wanted to come back for the people. That’s sad. I was having such a good time at home. I wanted all my friends to move with me so I wouldn’t have to go to another state to see them.

Nothing particularly interesting happened while I was home but I’m sure something will happen soon. It always does.

Leave a comment