XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

Thanksgiving

Posted by whochrisvu on December 4, 2008

Thanksgiving is usually a time where the entire family gathers together for a big meal, but this year was different because my family and I went to Las Vegas.  I was really excited to go out of state and to go on an airplane for the first time.  It was one of the best vacations I had.  Even though all of the slot machines and card tables were making fun of me, I made the best of my time by watching the shows.  They ranged from magic shows to the traditional dancing ones with the Vegas showgirls.

It was just a different atmosphere.  I was able to walk around at night with my brother and cousin without any of the worries that one would feel- say walking around New Orleans at night.  Just to be able to walk along the Vegas strip and enjoy the nightlife was amazing.  Another thing that was different was being separate from my parents.  Once we had breakfast together, we went our separate ways until dinner.  I was able to check out several hotels, watch shows, or go shopping.

The worst part of the vacation was when it ended because all of a sudden the school work that I was supposed to have done just came flying at my face.  I realized I had two projects, a couple of essays to write, and a makeup quiz to study for.  It wasn’t the best feeling to come home to.  I was dreading the 8:00 class on Monday because that truly meant that the holiday was over and that I had to wake up early.  Besides the homework, my holiday was very enjoyable.

Leave a comment