XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

Thanksgiving!

Posted by Shannon Taylor on December 4, 2008

Thanksgiving in my family usually revolves around food, family fun, and watching T.V. and this year was no different for the most part. Since I am a college student now, Thanksgiving was so much more enjoyable. Even though I live in New Orleans and I wasn’t flying home or anything my family just treated me differently. Last Thanksgiving, I just went to the Thanksgiving dinner and hung out with my cousins. This year was different. My family just couldn’t believe that I was in college now. Questions were swarming me “How’s school?.. What are our grades like? Do you like it?” It made me feel loved. The food was also a huge plus! I had a home cooked meal and was loving every bit of it. I learned how to play this fun card game with my sister called Phase 10. So much fun!! I couldn’t stop playing it!! With all the fun happening, it became a distraction from my work. I was so excited to get a break off of school I had forgotten about some of the due dates that were coming up. So, I had to stop the family fun and get back to my school work. Not going to school was the easy part but coming off the break was the hard part. I had to wake up early for my 8 o’clock class and back to work I went. I had so much fun over the break! Now I’m in the process of waiting for the wonderful month off for Christmas! I’m so EXCITED!! 🙂

Leave a comment