XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

ThAnKsGiVinG

Posted by Nia Weber on December 4, 2008

Thanksgiving was for the most part a typical Thanksgiving for me. Every year my mom, sister, and I go to the Convention Center after attending church on Thanksgiving morning. At the Convention Center we volunteer at Marlin Gusman’s Thanksgiving Celebration to feed the elderly and homeless. We served Thanksgiving dinner and dessert, as well as passed out bags stuffed with different odds and ends and then helped clean up. Sometimes it is boring when we go because we may not do much, but when we do help out I know its not in vain when I see the smiles on people’s faces and hear their cries of laughter as they enjoy themselves and their Thanksgiving dinner that they would otherwise not receive. There is always entertainment including bands and singers such as: Irma Thomas, Aaron Neville, and other local vocalists and their bands. I also spent Thanksgiving at my cousins’ houses. I was at one house for about four hours, then my mother drove my sister and I to Donalsonville to visit with relatives there. We visited another cousin in Donaldsonville as well. But, instead of everyone being at my grandmother’s sister’s house, they were at my cousin’s new house.

I definitely enjoyed the atmosphere of being at home, even though I am from New Orleans. Unfortunately, being away from the dorms was somewhat of a distraction for me. Before I went home I had my mind set on what I wanted to accomplish as far as studying and doing papers and homework. Consequently, most of that studying did not go s I planned it to go. I did not feel well the entire time I was home. Friday after Thanksgiving I was supposed to attend the Greek Show and Battle of the Bands for the Bayou Classic with my cousin and her friends but that ended up not working out. So, instead we spent the night on Bourbon Street. It was extremely packed; everyone looked like they were walking over everyone like ants in an ant pile. Most of my family asked how I was enjoying college. And my response was, “Its fine,” only because I did not feel like having a long drawn out discussion about school. I was not ready to move back into the dorms after the break because that was a reminder that finals were getting closer. But on a brighter note, it also meant that the one month Christmas vacation was closer as well, and I am definitely excited about that!

Leave a comment