XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

Thanksgiving

Posted by Roseanna Desiree Jessup on December 5, 2008

Thanksgiving, this year, was not much different from last year. I went home for the holiday. I got home the Wednesday morning before Thanksgiving. The House smelled like someone had been cleaning and, of course, someone had. My mom was making sure everything was in tip-top shape in case we had company. Food had been prepped and marinating in the fridge. By that night, food was already on the stove. The smell of cleansers and air fresheners were replaced with the smell of the brisket that was already slow cooking in the oven. By the time I woke up the next morning, my mom was already busy in the kitchen. My sister and stepfather were doing their part too: getting out the china getting the deep fryer ready (deep fryed turkey… that was new… and SO much better). I helped too but not for long. I volunteer at the convention center serving Thanksgiving meals. Including this year, I’ve been doing it for three years now. This time was a little different because my sister wasn’t with me. My mom let me drive her car to go. After I did my shift, I got home just in time to pray as a family and eat, and man did I eat. Everyone was nice and full. We watched some football together nd then, later that night, we played a game together.

It felt really good to be  home. I think being away made me more appreciative of what I have at home, the simple things. I have a double bathroom right up the hall, I don’t have to where shower shoes or slippers, I can actually sit on a couch, rather than lay on a bed all the time, I have a full sized bed that is so comfortable and, most importantly, I have my family. I didn’t realize I would miss them so much, but I do.

Leave a comment