XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

Thanksgiving

Posted by Bechi Okwumabua on December 5, 2008

My Thanksgiving was very different from any one I have experienced. I was not granted the privilage to travel home for Thanksgiving. I ended up going to a teammates’ house and celebrating the holiday with her family. I was very sad in the beginning. My mom and I both cried on the phone, which is really weird because I never excpected to miss my family that much. The times when I am so used to be with my family, like Thanksgiving and Christmas, were affected by basketball. This means that my opportunities to see my family is very limited since they live all the way in Memphis. I sometimes wish that my family lived closer or that I had decided to attend a university closer to Memphis so that I could see them on special occasions, and sometimes just because. This Thanksgiving was one of those times. I had a lot of fun with my teammate and her family. They cordially welcomed me into their home. I was happy to be there, because being with family is most important on the holidays. Even though this was not my family, my mom explained to me that this is the same way she and my dad built our extended family. The closest friends that my mother has now are those she stayed with when she could not go home to visit her immediate family. She was also a college athlete, so she was able to relate to the way I was feeling. But my Thanksgiving turned out just fine. The food was delicious and I was glad that I did not have to stay up in KD over the whole break. It is important to get away from the school environment sometimes. Nothing amazing happened… besides my mom and me crying on the phone. That actually is something amazing! Now I know how it feels to be grown… and I don’t like it a lot of the time! The holidays are never the same without family.

Leave a comment