XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

Week 15 Thanksgiving

Posted by Lamoyne Taylor on December 5, 2008

Thanksgiving is the is the part of the year when you gather with your family and think about everything you have to be thankful for.  It suppose to be a time to celerbrate with your family.  This year thanksgiving was different because the entire family moved to different states, but no Thanksgiving is the same.  When it came to this year, I had to drive to Mississippi from new orleans.  The reason why is because I attend Xavier University of Louisiana.  I think a major distraction from school is the vairety of activities that are held.  I also think that they are useful to ease the mind of people who study all the time. When I went home, I was treated very well.  I felt welcome if not better than before.  Once you truly understand the fundamentals of Thanksgiving, then you should know that it is not the time to mistreat your family.  No matter how long I leave home, I know that I am always welcomed and the hospitality shows that.  My sister and my greets me with happiness everytime I return home.  The good part is that even the communities are happy to see me at home.  During the break, I had a lot of fun.  I had time to enjoy my mom, and went shopping with my brother.  I also walked my dog.  The only bad thing that happen was that my grandpa died the week prior to Thanksgiving.  This was kind of hard getting use to and it was the most difficult part of Thanksgiving.

 

Leave a comment