XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

Turkey Day

Posted by Bri Harper on December 7, 2008

This year’s Thanksgiving was a lot different from previous years. I did not go home because I decided to stay here for Bayou Classic weekend. I have a cousin who lives in New Orleans so I was still able to get some good home cooked food. It was the same type of food I was used to at home but I still enjoyed it. I stayed over my cousin’s house for a few days and it was a nice break from being on campus mostly everyday. We stayed up and watched movies and just enjoyed each others company.

            What was really nice was having a web cam. Since my family back home and I both had a web cam we were able to see each other on Thanksgiving Day. It was a nice treat because I got to see my aunt and uncle, my cousins and my grandfather. It was almost like we were all together. Having the webcam made me feel like I was not missing out too much.

            Also a friend from high school came to New Orleans during the Thanksgiving break. I had seen her since August so it was really nice to get to hang out with her again. We went to the mall and out to eat and we caught up on old times. The break went by pretty fast but I did not dread going back because I knew I only had two more weeks until I could go home for a whole month.

 

Leave a comment