XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

Giving Thx in Dallas

Posted by Mychelle Williams on December 7, 2008

The day for Thanksgiving

I did not go home. This is my first ever Thanksgiving away from my mom. This was the first thanks giving that I did not go to my homecoming game.  I didn’t go home because at first we couldn’t afford the ticket. I only went to Dallas because her parents were blessed enough to buy both our tickets. I went to Dallas with my roommate. It was good to away from Xavier and in a home. I felt like part of the family. They treated me like one of their own and it was appreciated. It was definitely a distraction. I just laid around and slept all day, woke up and ate then back to sleep.

My roommates’ mom got us massage appointments. That was great! We really needed some relief. The home cooked meals were so good! We weren’t really treated any differently from our expectations. We were treated like the growing adults that we are. I t was refreshing to be in the company of people who believe and worship the same God as me. We went to many places including the club.

The Dallas club experience was what I had imagined it to be. The something drastically terrible happened. I lost my state id, never to be seen again. That meant a hassle at the airport. I had to be extra searched and it was time consuming. I was sad to leave but happy at the same time. It was because I’m tired of school but I wanted to see my boo. I missed him. I  was also eager to finish up and go home to “The city of Brotherly love and Sisterly affection”.

Leave a comment