XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

**My Voice**:A Blog By Jacinda Whitley

Posted by Jacinda Whitley on March 4, 2009

The idea of using your voice and being heard is a topic that can’t be stressed enough in today’s society. I definitely plan on continuing the path I have started at Xavier University in order to let my voice be heard.  Being that I am a meek person, I couldn’t see myself  preaching or shouting to a crowd of people in order to be heard. I’d  rather  be heard through my actions and the way I carry myself.  I think people are influenced by what they see and if I am setting an example that is positive, I won’t have to yell or scream but I would be ableto speak in a soft tone and still be heard and respected. Finishing school and becoming a successful leader will not only illustrate how being  your own person can benefit you, it also gives those who are searching for their own voice a way to find it.

Leave a comment