XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

Thanksgiving Day

Posted by Cui Wei Zhang on December 7, 2008

The Thanksgiving Holiday is the occasion for family to be together. This is the 4th Thanksgiving Holiday I already had in U. S. The last three times to me and my family it was not very excited because they still keep their mine in Chinese Holiday. They thought Thanksgiving holiday is only for American people. Therefore, I only have a dinner home with my parents without my friends. But now, I want to talk litter bit about the 4th Thanksgiving of my family. This Thanksgiving Day to me and my family it was little different.  This time we have a celebration for my new house. We got time to share our special dinner with turkey and lot of Chinese food. The big different is we are without any American people on this day. We had Karaoke for fun, drunk, and played cards. It was the first time I have the same feeling as I was in Chinese New Year day in U. S.

The day after Thanksgiving Holiday is a big sale day, everything is on sale and people go shop every where especially the mall. This is a big holiday for the ladies and family to save money. In my family, I was shopped with my cousins to shop at the mall in Mississippi. I did buy a lot of the things, but I feel very happy on this holiday. I think to you are all the Thanksgiving holiday is not strange, but to me it is.

I was happy to know more about this holiday and its history. Now, I’m so exciting to waiting for the next Thanksgiving.

Leave a comment