XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

Thanksgiving Break

Posted by Cherise Steib on December 8, 2008

Thanksgiving was very fun. I was so glad to finally go home for a while. My break started off with a surgery. My boyfriend had surgery on his shoulder the day before Thanksgiving. So I was in the hospital all day, but I didn’t mind.

Thanksgiving was at my sister’s new house in Baton Rouge. Her in laws were there and my family was there. Everybody brought in a dish with them. There was so much food in the house. After one plate, I was absolutely full! That is not normal for me. Every year for Thanksgiving, my family pulls names for Christmas. I’m usually the person who organizes everything. It’s fun to be the only person knowing who pulled what name. My family always tries to get me to tell them who pulled their name, but I never tell.

The break was definitely a distraction from school. I had work to do, but I didn’t do as much as I could have done. I did a few things, but not a lot. I just couldn’t focus over the break. I immediately went into lazy mode. The week after the break, I went into full student mode. I did so many assignments. I thought I was going to lose my mind.

Overall, my break was fabulous and I was glad to be home with family. There’s nothing like going home and relaxing and being in peace. Now I’m just waiting for the Christmas break when I can really be stress free.

Leave a comment