XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

Turkey Day…

Posted by Erin Gardner on December 7, 2008

Roughly three days before Thanksgiving I had gotten sick.  I was babysitting two sick three-year-olds a few days before and it turns out that there germs were a lot stronger than I had thought.  Nevertheless, I was full of meds and the majority of Thanksgiving passed in a haze.  However, I did notice that Thanksgiving this year had a considerably smaller celebration than in previous years.  Last year, my parents and I were traveling from Florida back home (to New Orleans) to meet with the family.  It seemed as though everyone had really made an effort to show their faces even if it was just ten minutes. This year, on the other hand, my parents, grandparents and I went to my aunt’s house, where the family agreed to meet this year.  We were the first to arrive and only about five more members came after, which was terrible considering the six siblings that my aunt has and her eleven nieces and nephews.  In addition, it was distressing that she had prepared such a vast amount of food and not even half of it was eaten; besides there were only so many plates that she could pack for us to bring home.

The medications that I had been prescribed to help me recover had to be taken for five days, which took the length of Thanksgiving break. Thus, I was fairly groggy for the entire break and I had lost my voice from the strain of all the coughing that I was doing. I prayed that at least my voice would improve for the return on Monday. I actually started feeling significantly better on that Sunday morning and I was looking to returning to school because there was only about two weeks left in the semester and I could not wait to breeze through them. J

Leave a comment