XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

Thanksgiving

Posted by Trang Tran on December 8, 2008

Thanksgiving this year was so different from last year. Last year, I spent time with my best friend in New York for Thanksgiving. It was really fun, because it was my first time in New York so she took me everywhere. I loved the cold weather, the Christmas lights, and the nonstop walking people strolled down on the street of New York City. The best part was going shopping in Times Square for Black Friday. It was also my first time spent $800 just to shop. I had Thanksgiving dinner at her sister’s house and afterward the girls were singing karaoke while the guys were playing poker. I had so much fun last Thanksgiving, especially with my best friend.
Thanksgiving this year was quite different. I had to work on Thanksgiving and the dinner is not even at my house. My family had dinner at my aunt’s house, which was not bad; I got to see most of my cousins who I haven’t seen in months. After the dinner I took my little brother and sister to the movie to watch Bolt. After that, I hang out with my boyfriend for a bit, and then I went home and rest. I woke up at 6 the next morning to get ready to go to the mall for Black Friday. There wasn’t any big sales going on but I did shop for Christmas. I went shopping for my boyfriend’s Christmas presents, and I spent almost $500 on him alone. It was fun going shopping without looking at the price before buying it, but it is not going to be fun when my next bills come home. It is okay, because it is just once a year, and a time for giving!

Leave a comment