XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

Thanksgiving

Posted by Courtney McClain on December 9, 2008

Thanksgiving really didn’t seem different besides the fact that I was treated like a guest. Well I keep telling my parents, “I’m a visitor, so I shouldn’t have to wash dishes, clean or cook” and I didn’t well I washed dishes while we were cooking for Thanksgiving. It was so good to be back at home. I didn’t have to wear shower shoes, use Lysol to clean everything before I use it and I also had a room to myself; I didn’t have to share with anyone else or worry about being to loud and disturbing them.

 

While I was at home on break I did noting at all that regarded homework, every time I tried to do math homework or work on my paper I always found a reason to do something else or play with my little brother. I did accomplish a couple assignments before I left, but everything I planed out to do when I got home wasn’t even thought about. Since I couldn’t concentrate on homework at home that was one reason why I wanted to come back to the school because I knew there would be no distraction from my family and friends wanting to hang out. The whole time I was at home noting amazing happened but I went out a lot to the clubs and spent a lot of time with my parents, which is rare because before I left to come to school I never was at home and never spent time with my parents. Being away from them brought us closer. I also thought I would never miss Xavier University, but deep down inside I missed the school and my friends I made here.

Leave a comment