XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

Thanksgiving

Posted by tammar williams on December 10, 2008

Thanksgiving this year wasn’t too great for me because I was told that I would get to go home, and it ended up not happening. I was so excited at the fact that I would go back to Arkansas and see my family and friends. Then the day before I was supposed to go home, my father told me that he wouldn’t be able to come and get me, and that I would have to spend the holiday with my aunt who lives down here. He apologized and I said that it was ok and I was fine, but I really wasn’t. I walked back from the NCF building to my dorm, and I cried for a long time. I hadn’t seen my family since that August and I was really homesick. Some people say that they would be ok living away from their families, and I thought that I was that person. I didn’t realize that I would miss my family and friends from Arkansas so much. After I had my cry, I got a call from my aunt and she told me that we would be riding down to Houston for Thanksgiving. All I thought was “Great, another stupid eight-hour car ride”. I was not happy about my circumstances, but I had to endure. We got down to Houston and it was cool seeing my relatives that lived in Texas, but I still wished that I could go home to Arkansas. Overall it was an ok vacation.

I did get distracted from school a little bit probably just because I wasn’t at my dorm. I went shopping on black Friday and got a few things, and basically nothing else really distracted me except for the fact that I had to keep getting in the car to go to another relative’s house for hours. I didn’t really have too much time to study my school work, but I knew that I needed to because I had a biology lab final 8 o’clock that Monday morning. I didn’t really experience anything amazing except for the fact that even though I thought I was grown and could be away from my family, I really can’t for too long.

Leave a comment