XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

Voting Experience

Posted by Cui Wei Zhang on December 12, 2008

I am not a citizen in U. S. yet. So, I don’t have chance to vote on this time. But my friend had shared his experience to me.
 The voting is strict and serious in U. S.  So, he supposed to vote carefully. He mail in to vote and he had made a mistake on his ballot this time. Therefore, he took his ballot in to the polling place to get a new one again. He said when you surrender your mail-in ballot, the inspector supposed to write “IN PERSON” next to your name, and supposed to sign the register and then give you a fresh ballot. You give them your spoiled ballot and they write VOID or SPOILED on the ballot in red and then keep it to turn in at the end of the night.
 It is incorrect that the inspector at the polling place kept insisting that you had to vote provisionally. If you are
a mail in voter who is surrendering your ballot, you do not have to vote provisionally. You only have to vote provisionally in this case if you do not have your ballot to surrender. You can not to vote twice.
When you vote provisionally, you have to fill out a detailed envelope explaining why you are voting provisionally and sign it. Your ballot is sealed in
the envelope and then the registrar later verifies that you were eligible to vote and that your ballot should be counted. Although, I do not have chance but I also excited with my friend on this time his voting. This year, he voted for a black man. If I have chance to vote, I think it is a wonderful experience.

Leave a comment