XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

**Waukesha’s Story**: A Blog By Jacinda Whitley

Posted by Jacinda Whitley on February 4, 2009

     Waukesha’s encounters with all of the women strengthens her ability to speak her mind and really be a survivor through the situations at hand.  Though she is a strong woman, fighting with her words to reveal the harsh realities of women and struggle, her encounter with Ms. Cecile Payne was one of the most heartfelt. Ms. Cecil was an older lady that took over a place the locals called Walter’s, after her sisters death. Her situation and  willingness to talk about the issues at hand definitely enables Waukesha to persevere. I think she realizes speaking out does not have to be painful and sad it can be relieving. I know myself how hard it is to loose loved ones. And even though I didn’t loose everything in a flood, I feel that it strengthens me in a way as well. I know that it is possible to come from nothing to something.

Leave a comment