XULA Freshman Seminar

Xavier Freshmen Explore Self in Relation to Community

**KeePiN iT PuShin**: A Blog By Jacinda Whitley

Posted by Jacinda Whitley on February 17, 2009

The most important think that I can do to make my voice be heard is to continue to work hard and  beat the odds. People are going to try and stop you from pursing your goals and aspirations all throughout your life and I’m going to be the one to ensure that I continue my journey to medical school no matter how challenging it will become.  In order to be heard and to have people listen to you, you have to look presentable. So I will ensure that when I’m in the presence of professionals, I am looking and acting professional.

If I had to advice incoming freshman, I would tell them to make sure they are staying ahead of the game. Work first and play later. I would also tell them to get used to curfew. The best lesson Ihave  learned from the upperclassmen is to get in good with your professors and teachers because you never know when you are going to need them. And most importantly, dress respectfully and respect yourself.  I would try my hardest to get them to understand that all these things,  how they present themselves and who they hang around will have an effect on how effective their voice is.

Leave a comment